A hidden gem in North Mayo

The small rural  village of Kilfian is situated between Ballina, Crossmolina, Ballycastle and Killala.

For outdoor enthusiasts there are two rivers, the Glen River and the Owenmore/Palmerstown River which provide beautiful scenery and the opportunity for local and visiting anglers to test their skill.

Kincon in the parish of Kilfian is the focal point of the parish where you will find the Church of the Sacred Heart  and a monument erected in honour of Sir Alexander Fleming (1881 – 1955) the world-renowned discoverer of penicillin) and his Kilfian born wife Lady Sarah McElroy-Fleming (1881 – 1949)

Memorial to Sir Alexander and Lady Sarah Fleming
Memorial to Sir Alexander and Lady Sarah Fleming

Church of the Sacred Heart

The Church of the Sacred Heart is also a focal point of Kincon/Kilfian. Services are held on Saturday at 7:30pm.  The name of this parish is pronounced in Irish ‘Cill Fhiadhaín which translates to the Church of Saint Fian

Church of the Sacred Heart Kilfian
Church of the Sacred Heart

Kilfian Vintage Show

The Kilfian Vinatge Show is held annually during the June Bank Holiday in Kincon. Organised by Kilfian Vintage Club this show displays vintage tractors, vintage and classic cars, trucks, motorcycles, threshing and much more. They have trade stands, music children’s entertainment, a dog show and craft demonstrations.

Vintage Tractor
Kilfian Vintage Show